Main Content

Tier Points

Understanding how it all works

Flying Club has three membership tiers – Red, Silver and Gold. On this page you'll discover the benefits in each tier, and learn a little more about how Tier Points work.

Tab Panel

Flying Club tiers at a glance


New member

Red membership benefits include:

  • Earn miles when you fly
  • Miles Plus Money on flights
  • Spend miles on Reward Flights
  • Access to a whole host of partner brands
Discover Red


400 Tier Points

Silver membership benefits include:

  • 30% more miles on flights
  • Premium Check in
  • Free seat assignment in Economy Light
Discover Silver


1,000 Tier Points

Gold membership benefits include:

  • 60% more miles on flights
  • Upper Class Check In
  • Access to our Clubhouses and London Heathrow Revivals
  • Extra luggage allowance, no matter which cabin you fly
Discover Gold

How to move between the tiers

The only way you can move up to Silver or Gold is by earning Tier Points which you'll get when you fly. The more you fly, the more Tier Points you'll earn. And it can be easier than you might think to reach the next level:

400 Tier Points could be:

  • 1 flexible Upper Class return flight
  • OR 2 flexible Premium return flights
  • OR 4 Economy Delight return flights

1,000 Tier Points could be:

  • 2 returns and a one way in Upper Class
  • OR 5 flexible Premium return flights
  • OR 10 Economy Delight return flights

How many Tier Points you'll earn in each cabin (one way)



Upper Class

Ticket type Light
(E, Q, X,N,O)
(L, U, M, Y, B, R)
(H, K) (W, S) (Z) (J, C, D, I)
Tier Points earned 25 25 50 50 50 100 100 200

But Tier Points don't last forever

Tier Points expire after 12 months

So if you don’t fly enough in that time, you’ll automatically move down to the next tier. You can find out the date your tier will expire in your account. To stay as a Silver member, you’ll need to earn at least 400 Tier Points a year, and to remain Gold you’ll need to earn at least 1,000 Tier Points a year.

If you’re a Red member, no need to worry. Your membership won’t expire as long as you earn or spend miles within three years.

Tier Point upgrade and renewal cycles

Red members: To upgrade from Red to our Silver tier you'll need to earn 400 Tier Points in any Upgrade Cycle. Your Upgrade Cycle is calculated from the current date of the month, to the 1st day of the same month in the previous year (i.e. any rolling minimum 12 month’s to a maximum of 13 months).

Silver or Gold members: Once you're a Silver/Gold member you’ll remain in that tier provided you earn the minimum number of Tier Points for that tier within our Upgraded Fixed Membership Period (that’s 400 Tier Points to stay Silver, 1,000 Tier Points to stay Gold). This period is calculated from one day after the date on which you achieved Silver/Gold and continues for the remainder of that month plus a further 12 months.

To remain in Silver for another Fixed Membership Period, you'll need to earn a minimum of 400 Tier Points in each Renewal Fixed Membership Period. You'll have the full 12 calendar months to retain your Silver membership status.

For each Upgrade Cycle, Upgraded Fixed Membership Period and Fixed Membership Period, your Tier Points will reset to 0. If you don't earn enough Tier Points to retain your Silver or Gold membership, you'll automatically revert back to a Silver member from Gold and a Red member from Silver.

Join now for free

It only takes a couple of minutes to sign up, so what are you waiting for?

Tab Panel

You might also be interested in...

Ways to earn miles

There are lots of ways to see your miles balance soar.

Ways to earn miles

Ways to spend miles

Enjoy Reward Flights, upgrades, hotel stays and more.

Ways to spend miles

Flying Club airline partners

You can also earn Tier Points when you fly with some of our airline partners.

Learn more about airline partners